Reborn. Realise. Recover.

The stomach growled as Mum wheeled me into the hospital. It was a sight which attracted many stares, with many wondering what is this young lad doing here?
Calmly we sat around and waited the clock to strike 3. Then, several nurses brought in a blue gown for me to put on- which I did so, wrongly. In the end, I had to get the nurse to do it for me, a moment that was both embarrassing and a tad uncomfortable. Everything happened in quick succession, no sooner when I worn the gown was I pushed to the operating theatre reception area. You could hear babies crying as the nurses do their very best to calm them down. Patients got pushed in and out of the theatres, some partially unconscious and looked as though as they had gone through a tumultuous battle.
I stayed cool while waiting for the doc to arrive. Checks after checks they ensured I know what I will be going through minutes after. The wait was long and agonizing- I just wanted to get it over and done with.
It was almost half past four when he arrived and without further delay they pushed me in as Mum grabbed my hand tightly. She teared and forced a smile as I went and. The last words she heard from the doctor was: “Don’t worry, we’ll get him back to OCS.”
Those words were melody to my ears, I confidently knew I was in good hands and let go of mum’s hand comfortably, reassuring her everything will be fine. That feeling took a swing when I became alone. I couldn’t see where I was headed to and that unknown brought me to a new level of fear. What did the theatre look like? How will they make me sleep? Countless questions I should have asked but didn’t.
Enter, a cold sterile room capable of storing your family’s meat supply for a good one week. The heavy metallic tang was so strong, you feel the instant need to throw up, but the deep breath you took in to prevent oneself from going crazy, immediately forces everything back into your gut. Then, without much notice they shift you from your warm nestle of blankets onto a table that was piercingly chilly that left you shivering. As the anesthatist spoke to you, he’s already doing what he needs to do- send you into dreamland. For this brief moment your body cools, you start to smile and feel good as though it’s the best feeling on Earth. You smile and before you know it you’re ready to be cut open. The next 2 over hours was unknown to me but upon being pushed back into the reception area I felt my teeth chatter, my hands throbbing uncontrollably and words many couldn’t quite comprehend began spewing from my mouth. It was the morphine. It had to be. But I liked the feeling of having it, it was great.
It took a while for me to settle down but I only remembered seeing Mum by my side and it was the most comforting moment after being under the knife. It was a moment to cherish, a moment where you know, no matter how big you are, how strong you may be, how independent you usually are, you’ll still long to have your Mum by your side in critical situations just like this.
It was a op well done and no one but me could have been happier to have finally gotten the worst out of the way. (Especially when the op was an impromptu one where I only had a day’s notice to mentally prepare myself.)
Hospitals are horrible places to be, as much as you hope, you never need to visit one, unless you are expecting a child, of course that will be a spectacle to behold. But more oftenly you encounter many painful interactions here. When old age catches up with you, sickness is inevitable and with that comes suffering. The old man beside me was suffering from severe pneumonia. He was struggling to live properly as a normal human being. Every moment of his life, lying on the bed was torture.
The happiness of being reborn with a repaired leg was hampered when right in front of your eyes you witnessed scenes of how fragile life can really be. We only got one life and it’s a huge responsibility to take care of it to avoid more complications in the future.
The road to recovery has reached a new milestone today and indeed I get more and more excited each day as it’s a day nearer to leading a normal life again.
Next week is going to be an exciting one with so many things planned and I just can’t wait. Opportunities present themselves to me and with only one life, one precious life, what could I possibly be waiting for? 🙂

Leave a Reply

